February 1, 1855 letter to Luke Keith from George Tomlinson

February 1, 1955

To: Luke Keith

From: George Tomlinson, Pavilion, NY

George and his cousin have agreed to rent Luke’s farm for ten years. His cousin has a farm and so won’t be able to get there before August. Aunt Patty wants Lois to come and stay with her for at least a year if not longer.

Pavilion           Feb. 1. 1855

L. C. Keith

I have agreed with my cousin to go on to your farm if you have not sold it or bargained it away. If you have made no sale – take down the board – If all goes as I expect the farm is let for 10 years.

It may be considered strange that I dont hear any thing from you. Have you got the draft? What have you done about chopping? Can any one be got to get out the manure in the spring & plant the orchard to corn & potatoes on shares and cut the grass? Ask Oscar about it & see if he is in a condition to do it?

My Cousin has a farm on his hands here and thinks he cant get there before the first of Aug. – Have you written to me since I left? If you can get inclination on time to write call in and tell Ethan what to say. We are all well – Having winter in good earnest – roads full of snow &c.

Aunt Patty[1] hasnt called more than once because Lois[2] did not come home with me. She says tell Luke to have her ready & the first chance have her come along. I suppose she means the first chance for company. I shall look out and if I find any one going that way shall send for her – so be ready.

Aunt Patty says tell Lois to make calculations to stay a year if not longer & maybe more. I have not time to write.

Write in answer to this before you sleep.

Geo. Tomlinson

[1] George’s mother-in-law, Martha “Patty” (Keith) Sprague

[2] Lois Keith, Luke’s daughter by his first wife, Minerva Payson

Leave a Reply

