September 2, 1857 letter to Luke Keith from Charles R. Cridland

September 2, 1857

To: Luke Keith

From: Charles R. Cridland, Delaware, KS

Is disappointed that he has not heard back from Luke. His corn is ready to cut and he should start making brooms in a week or two, but he doesn’t have the machine and the handles. Writes about his trees that he left in the nursery and what could be done with them and more instructions regarding the broom machine. He has been ailing from the ague and is taking quinine & whiskey as a cure. He is getting better but not able to work yet.

Delaware R J. Sept. 2. 1857

Dear Friend

I rec’d your letter yesterday and was much disappointed at its contents, that you did not more fully inform me of my business in Mich – I wrote to Taylor on the 30th June requesting him to see if he could sell the stuff I left or a part of it to Loren[?] Clark (as he wanted it) and have him pay me in soft wood lumber at Clarks Mill. I told him you would make a bargain with them to turn part of it into handles and take their pay in lumber and that if done it must be done very soon. Shortly afterwards I wrote to you requesting you to enquire about it and to assist me if possible in the matter and to write to me any way and let me know if anything could be done or not and you do not say a word about it. My corn is almost ready to cut and I should be making up brooms in a week or two if I had the machine and the handles. I trust you will write me immediately and let me know about it all. Now about the Machine. I gave very definite instructions to Squire Bristol what I would do about it and I cannot understand the proposition you make now. I told Bristol I would take the machine if Wan would take his pay out of the trees that were left standing in the nursery and I would not be particular about the price, but you do not say when he expects to take the trees nor what he asks for the machine. I do not know how many trees there are left & whether they would pay him or not and I am not disposed to pay any money, and it is too late now to parley about it as I must have a machine immediately if I have to make such an one as I can get up myself, and I do not know that I can find timber this side the rocky mountains fit to make one of as there is no time to be lost. I tell you what you must do. You must see Wan and make the best bargain you can with him. It is not likely the trees in the nursery will be of any value to me and you may turn them part or all of them out to him, cherry trees, everything there is if he will take them. And if You must try hard to do that first, and if that will not do, then you must pay him the balance out of what Squire Bristol has of mine. The Squire promised to send me a list of the number of the trees and the parts he got of me, but he has not done it and therefore I cannot give any very definite direction about them. I do not expect to get any of the trees sent to me the Squire has. The expense and the risk I find it too great. I have lost all those I brought in the Spring and I do not think it best to try again, so you will make a dicker with him somehow, and it must be done soon to be of any use. I would rather have one sent the middle of Sept than a wagon load the middle of October. It would be ten to one that it would be at St Louis till next May, so he must fix up Clark’s and let me have that. I think you had better take it to pieces and box it up in a high box. Perhaps a boot box would hold it, and you could fill it up with some of the things you have of mine. I wish you would get me the irons and make me a lever for a lever press. I could fix the rest of it if I had the proper irons and the lever, and if you could make a pattern for a jaw and get me a pair cast at Kalamazoo, I should like it. I have I am taking Quinine and Whiskey to cure the Ague and am getting better, but I am not able to work any yet.

Charles R. Cridland[1]

[1] While the letter is unsigned, from previous and subsequent letters it has been determined that the writer was Charles R. Cridland

Leave a Reply

