July 22, 1855 letter to Luke Keith from George Tomlinson

July 22, 1855

To: Luke Keith

From: George Tomlinson, Pavilion, NY

More farm business. Inquires about various family members. He hopes to come in September and if he does, the schools will have to take care of themselves.

Pavilion           July 22, 1855

C. L. Keith

I wrote you a few days ago in regard to Mr Lyon visiting Galesburgh for the purpose of seeing our land. I hardly think I shall trade with him any way for he will not be willing to pay what I shall ask. If Mr Lyon has been there write what he said as to price &c, &c.

I should like to have you write how Lasher is getting along with the house. Perhaps it would be best if your father[1] is willing to stack the wheat by his barn so as to thrash it with his. I dont care how it is done only that the wheat is cut & taken care of in good order in proper season. I hope you will let me know how the thing is going. We would like to know how things are going with the rest of you. What is Lois[2] about and Helen[3] how does she carry sail – and Aunt Catharine[4] how does she proper. I think some of you might come and see us – suppose you put your wites together and draw cuts – we wont be particular who comes. The last we heard from Mrs Kendal she had bargained away her place – she thinks of going west. Aunt Lois[5] will go west as soon as she has company. We hear from Uncle Pauls[6] folks occasionally, they never enjoyed so good health as at present. Our folks have gone to Perry to a conference, we have no meetings here but shall have sometime. The house is done but not furnished. We want blinds, carpets, lamps and lots of things, dont know where they will come from. I wish you would send us a stout woolverene, the girl we have dont want to stay much longer, she is not obliged to work out.

Lasher wrote me or some one for him soon after I wrote to you that heard nothing from him – he was rather sharp I thought I felt called upon to reply that I thought the writer of the letter made him say what he did not mean.

I think his wifs sister is there am I right? I have sent Lasher 10$ have you heard him say any thing about seeing it? Ask him. I send $5.00 in this for him which you will please hand.

What do you think about the kind of wheat it is best to have Lasher sow? I see it stated in the papers that the meditteranian wheat is not or was not attacked by the fly. You are there & of course know what news paper writers guess at. If it is thought best by you & Lasher to sow meditteranian wheat it would be best to secure said soon if it is to be had & to be paid for when my wheat is thrashed.

The Valperaso or blue stem stands the fly as well as any while the _____ is very badly used up & many fields entirely. I think to escape the fly in the fall wheat ought to be sown rather late – say Sept. 15 or 20th. I have not made up my mind when I shall go then I want to build a barn when I do go. If I go in Sept. I shall have to let the schools take care of themselves.[7]

It has rained 3 days now – large lots of hay are cut – no grain is cut in this vicinity yet.

Write as soon as you _____ this.

Yours

Geo. Tomlinson

[1] Charles Luke Keith Sr.

[2] Luke’s oldest daughter, Lois Keith

[3] Believe he is referring to Luke’s niece, Helen Bradley

[4] Luke’s sister, Catherine (Keith) Bradley Lee

[5] It is believed that this is a reference to the mother of Luke’s first wife, Minerva (Payson) Keith, whose first name is thought to be Lois

[6] Paul Carpenter Sprague, the uncle of George’s wife, Marion (Sprague) Tomlinson

[7] George was the superintendent of schools in Pavilion, New York

Leave a Reply

