April 8, 1855 letter to Luke Keith from George Tomlinson

April 8, 1855

To: Luke Keith, Galesburg, MI

From: George Tomlinson, Pavilion, NY

He has made a conditional bargain for the land for five years. If Luke has not already rented the house out, or if he has and can get out of the deal honorably he should do so as the man wants the whole farm.

Pavilion           April 8, 1855

L. C. Keith, Esq.

Yours of 2nd inst came to me last night. You say nothing about money. I sent you a draft for $200 about the 20th of March. Have you received it?

I think you offer the house & orchard cheap enough. I had a chance to let the whole farm the other day. If I had not told you to let it & had I not expected you had done so I should let him have it.

Have you done any thing with the timber? I am afraid some of those long sticks will spoil if they are not hewed this spring.

April 11.

I have made a conditional bargain for that land for 5 years. Now if you have not let out the land or rented the house or so far agreed as to how to back out if you do not let it go you need not for I have agreed to let a man have it, if it is not disposed of when you receive this. If you have rented or bargained it away so you cant get out of it honorably let it go but if you cant, it must go as you have agreed.

The man I have agreed with will go on it as soon as I hear from you and if it is not disposed of before you get this. He wants the whole farm – well your half. I ____ half the seed & furnish one horse or the price of one horse. 5 years without int.

You will see this is better than to rent the house and orchard to one man & other lots to others. Again I say back out of no trades, but if you have not traded hold on.

If Sam has the house I want he should fence the bottom land & chop up what wood is down any how.

As soon as I hear from you I will write again. If Sam has it I will tell what work I will give him. Perhaps I will have 8 or 10 acres of those high brush cut.

Write as soon as you get this. Dont sleep first. This man is waiting to know. Have your letter Mailed Direct.

All well.

Geo. Tomlinson

P.S. Tell Grand Mother[1] those small matters of pictures shall be attended to when I am out of busness.

——-

[1] Hannah (Willcutt) Keith

Leave a Reply

