April 7, 1851 letter to Luke Keith from Marion Tomlinson

April 7, 1851

To: Charles Luke Keith Jr., Galesburg, MI

From: Marion S Tomlinson, Pavilion, NY

Expects to leave Buffalo next week and would like someone to meet her to “take the birds.” George will have to stay in Wisconsin for July and perhaps till August so she can make them a long visit. Wants Luke to make some arrangements about the birds so she can leave them if he is not there. Mother Payson feels bad because Luke does not write to her.

Pavilion April 7, 1851

Uncle Luke,[1]

I write to inform you that I start for Wisconsin one week from to day. I go with Julius and his wife, but cannot stop to visit you. We expect to leave Buffalo in the evening, so you must make your own calculations about what time I will be at your place, and you, or some of the rest must meet me there to take the birds, for I shall bring them. Geo[2] will have to stay in Wis. till July, and perhaps till August. I shall start for home before he does, so as to make you a long visit. Make some arrangements about the birds so that I can leave them if you are not there, that is, if you can. Dean is waiting to carry this to the office and he is in a hurry. We are all well. Your mother Payson[3] feels bad because you do not write to her. Give my respects to all the friends.

Marion S. Tomlinson

[1] Luke’s sister, Martha “Patty” (Keith) Sprague was Marion’s mother

[2] Marion’s husband, George Tomlinson

[3] Mother of Luke’s first wife, Minerva (Payson) Keith. Believe her first name was Lois; investigation continues

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s