April 24, 1843 letter to John & Rebecca Adams from Phebe Berry

April 24, 1843

To:  John Adams, Somerville, NY

From:  Phebe Berry, Malone, NY

Her health has been better the past three weeks. She was glad to hear that they had a good time getting home and was surprised to hear of the sudden deaths there in their absence. She is thankful and grateful for the care she received from her parents and wished they weren’t so far away so that she could repay them by caring for them as they grow older.

1843-04-24A
1843-04-24A
1843-04-24B
1843-04-24B
1843-04-24C
1843-04-24C
1843-04-24D
1843-04-24D

Malone April the 24, 1843

Dear Parents[1]

I intended you should hear from me before this time when you left but I have neglected it. My health is better. I have been quite smart for three weeks past, so well that I and Mother[2] have done the work without a girl. Harriet left us just three weeks ago to day. She has been quite sick with this disease in the throat but she is better now. I was glad to hear that you found your things in as good order as you expected and that you had so good a time in getting home for we had a dreadful storm here, and I was a fraid you would have as bad a time as Mother and I had but David[3] got home Monday without any trouble and said he left you all quite smart. I was verry much surprised to hear of the suden deaths there in your absence and it seems as though I could not have it that Margaret and Mrs Bishop[4] are no more in that society that will ever be near to me all though the the strongest ties that bind my affection to that loved place be torn a sunder yet there will remain an attachment for those friends in my boosom which nothing but death can ever obliterate.

I have not much news to write. There has not any thing transpireg of any importance here since you left. I have not seen Grand Father or any one from Constable since you left. But have heard that Aunt Lavinna was well enough to be around out doors and had made Edgar a pair of pantellons and done some other sewing. There hasent been any sickness about here since you went home excepting Mr Brown child that is dead. My complaint has been better. I got a medisin of an old lady that I thought was better than oak bark. I have neglected useing it for too or three days and I am not quite so well to day. I thank you and I feel as if I could not be greateful enough for these preasents and if I could express the feelings that I have every time I go to that Bureau whare we have in time past had the pleasure of laying our things side by side that it has gone from one that is more deserving than I. One that has toiled early and late through wet and dry for me and I knew not till now how to prise her worth and now must it be that I cant repay that gift of Love and gratitude. Must they go so far from me that though you should in your decline of life need my care and assistence as i have yours that we cant be neer enough together to know any thing about each other. I have an opertunity to send this Letter to the Office and I must draw it to a close. I have wrote most the hole of it with Ellen[5] in my arms and I wish her Aunt Ellen[6] or her Grand Ma could had her for she is a little rogue. Thats what I say. I am all a lone this after noon with the Children. Mother is over to St Parlins helping her quilt. I dont expect to do without a girl much longer and I wish i could have you Ellen yes and Emulous[7] too. Do write as soon as you get this for I want to hear from you verry much for if my health is as good as it is now i should want to come and see you if you went to the _______. I dont know as you can read this but I have no time to draw it of but read what you can and then burn it. Give my Love to all inquirers.

This from your Daughter

Phebe Berry

[1] John and Rebecca (Lawrence) Adams

[2] Her mother-in-law, Mercy (Fish) Berry

[3] Her husband, David F. Berry

[4] The letter had been folded many times and it was difficult to read if it was Mr. or Mrs. Bishop

[5] Her daughter, who was born November 23, 1841

[6] Her sister, Ellen Adams

[7] Her brother, Emulous Adams

Leave a Reply

