November 15, 1839 letter to Luke Keith from James Sprague Jr.

November 15, 1839

To: Charles Luke Keith Jr., Galesburg, MI

From: J. Sprague Jr., Pavilion, NY

Mentions Luke’s wife, Minerva. Talks about times being hard. Wants to know how much Luke got cheated out of by selling his mare. Dan’s girl was buried four weeks ago.

Pavilion Nov 15 1839

Sir we have not herd from you except by Minerva[1]. We expected a letter from you before this – the rest of the folks we have given up there writing. We are all well. It is the hardest time for Money we ever knew. I paid W. M. Sprague[2] thirty four dollars & had the same indorsed on your Note. William was some dissatisfied. He said he expected from the conversation that he had with you that I would give my Note & take up yours. You said nothing to me about it. He talked of writing to you on the subject – I dont know if he has or not. The cloth I left with Father[3] sell if it will sell for ten shillings pr yard more if it is worth it. Dans[4] girl was buried 4 weeks to morrow. We expect to send by Mr Austin some yarn to keep Catherines[5] feet warm. Give our respects to all.

J Sprague Jr[6]

I understand by Mrs Payson you had to swap away the old mare. I should like to know how much you got cheated. I am verry sorry you went with a horse & waggon. Had I have known your circumstances before buying the horse as I have since I should have advised you differently but it is no use to cry for spilt milk.

In haste

J Sprague Jr

[1] Luke’s wife, Minerva (Payson) Keith

[2] Believe this to be his brother, William Sprague

[3] James Sprague Sr.

[4] His brother, Dan Sprague

[5] Luke’s sister, Catherine (Keith) Bradley

[6] James Sprague Jr.

One thought on “November 15, 1839 letter to Luke Keith from James Sprague Jr.

Leave a Reply

